Electric fuel pump

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pweems1973

Hello. I am new to RVs. I have a 1987 Pace Arrow. I am having trouble with the fuel pump system. When I have the electric fuel pump connected, it is sending too much fuel to the carburetor and floods out. Is there a relay or a pressure switch that tells the electric fuel pump to kick on and off? If so, where us it located?

Hello. I am new to RVs. I have a 1987 Pace Arrow. I am having trouble with the fuel pump system. When I have the electric fuel pump connected, it is sending too much fuel to the carburetor and floods out. Is there a relay or a pressure switch that tells the electric fuel pump to kick on and off? If so, where us it located?
Welcome!

Is it a stock fuel pump? Have you checked its PSI with a fuel pump gauge?

If that checks okay, you could have a carb float problem. See below how the gas flow stops when the float closes the float needle and prevents more gas from entering the carb. This is more likely your problem than the fuel pump.

Just a small grain of sand (or whatever) at the float needle seat will cause the carb to overflow even with a perfectly good fuel pump:

1726788087189.png

-Don- Reno, NV

Last edited:
The fuel pump came from factory. The carburetor that was on it was flooding so I bought a new carburetor. The new one is doing the same thing.
The electric pump is sending too much fuel. Is it supposed to have a relay or a pressure switch to tell it to kick off?

The fuel pump came from factory. The carburetor that was on it was flooding so I bought a new carburetor. The new one is doing the same thing.
The electric pump is sending too much fuel. Is it supposed to have a relay or a pressure switch to tell it to kick off?