Battery gurgle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

canicon25

Hello,

I am new to using a solar panel with my RV. I have a 120W panel and a Renogy Voyager 10Amp PWM controller. My batteries are 2 6VDC flooded in series. I have a simple question. When I hook up my batteries to the panel the controller begins to charge the batteries at a little over 14V. Very soon my batteries start making gurgling noises. Is this normal?? I don't hear this sound when plugged into shore power (my onboard converter/charger is an Elixir ELX-45). Just wondering if these battery noises are normal when on solar?

Thank you!

Not unique to solar - it's the sound of a high rate of charger "boiling" the electrolyte inside the battery. That can happen when charging at a combined high voltage and amp rate. But it doesn't seem that a smart 10 amp solar charger like the Voyager should cause that, at least not by itself.

I wonder if your old Elixir 45 probably is also pushing in amps @ 14+ volts. What level of voltage does the Elixir produce with the solar disconnected? Is it possible it too is charging at 14+ volts at the same time? Typically the solar charger voltage is high enough to make the converter/charger think the battery is fully charged and drop into float charging (around 13.3v), but the Elixir isn't very smart. It might be overcharging by adding it's output to the Voyager amperage.

Frankly, replacing the Elixir with a modern smart converter/charger would be a wise move, but its not a real cheap solution. Here is some info and some more at Elixir Replacement Converter.

Last edited: